compared with
Current by Mariana Damova
on Oct 08, 2012 14:00.

This line was removed.
This word was removed. This word was added.
This line was added.

Changes (2)

View Page History

h1. Metadata Standards

[Seeing Standards: A Visualization of the Metadata Universe|].
"Each of the 105 standards listed here is evaluated on its strength of application to defined categories in each of four axes: community, domain, function, and purpose. The strength of a standard in a given category is determined by a mixture of its adoption in that category, its design intent, and its overall appropriateness for use in that category.
The standards represented here are among those most heavily used or publicized in the cultural heritage community, though certainly not all standards that might be relevant are included. A small set of the metadata standards plotted on the main visualization also appear as highlights above the graphic. These represent the most commonly known or discussed standards for cultural heritage metadata."

A treasure-trove of information.
- For every topic of interest, you could spend weeks researching the relevant standards.
- Includes:
-- Poster of visualization (36in x 108in): print it in color from Adobe Acrobat with these settings:
Orientation=landscape, Scaling=Tile large pages, Tile Scale=19%, Overlap=0.05in, No cut marks. This results in 2 pages that you can paste together. (Or try at 40% and paste 4 pages)
The left half is shown below
-- Metadata standard glossary, pamphlet form: 1 para description of each standard
-- Metadata standard glossary, poster form (36in x 41in): you need a very big printer (or very strong glasses ;-) ) to use this
- A bit old (2010, eg only mentions LIDO)
- (!) The major listed Cultural Heritage standard that we don't yet know about is *CCO*


h1. Ontology Engineering

h1. CRMdig

- Ontology for representing digitization processes, especially in archaeology, developed as part of 3D COFORM.
- included in the CRM conversion tool [], file 3D-COFORM_CRMdig_v2.5.rdfs